A Brief History of Rotary International District 3780

By Cholo Hermoso | Posted on October 22, 2021

During the Rotary Year 1963-1964, Past District Governor Mat Caparas of the Rotary Club of Caloocan (who became the first Rotary International President of the Philippines) was the very first District Governor of District 380 comprising all the islands of Luzon and Palawan.

District 380 was further divided into 2 during the Rotary Year 1982-1983. The National Capital Region (NCR) together with the provinces of Batanes, Cagayan, Kalinga, Isabela, Ifugao, Nueva Vizcaya, Nueva Ecija, Aurora, Qurino and Bulacan became the new District 380 and the provinces of Pampanga going north west to Ilocos Norte later then was recognized as Rotary International District 3790.

District Conference 2018

By Rotary Year 1987-1988, District 380 was again divided into three. The provinces of Batanes, Cagayan, Kalinga, Isabela, Ifugao, Nueva Vizcaya, Nueva Ecija, Aurora, Qurino and Bulacan became the new District 377, with all the clubs within Metropolitan Manila became the new District 380 and Quezon City became the “Lone-City District” of 378.

R. I. then approved of the “renumbering of districts” during the Rotary Year 1989-1990, where District 378 – QC is now registered as Rotary International District 3780, Quezon City, Philippines.

District Assembly 2019

Today the Rotary International District 3780 celebrates its founding anniversary every 21st of April from the year 1987.

The Rotaract Clubs of Rotary International District 3780 was originally composed of 8 Rotaract Clubs, namely:

  • Rotaract Club of San Francisco del Monte (1974)
  • Rotaract Club of Sta. Mesa-UERM (1977)
  • Rotaract Club of Diliman (1980)
  • Rotaract Club of Balintawak (1984)
  • Rotaract Club of Quezon Memorial Colleges (1985)
  • Rotaract Club of Biak-na-Bato (1985)
  • Rotaract Club of New Manila Heights (1985)
  • Rotaract Club of Paraiso (1986)

Aside from being a Lone-city District, the Rotary International District 3780 is also one of the 10 Districts in the Philippines (3770, 3790, 3800, 3810, 3830, 3850, 3860, and 3870).

Midyear Review 2020

Some Milestones and Achievements:

  1. The First District Conference was held in 1988, in ULTRA, now PhilSports Arena and participated by about 15 clubs.
  2. RID 3780 was recognized and accredited by the National Youth Commission in 1996 and supported Government programs on international goodwill, education development, environment protection and moral development.
  3. RID 3780 participated as well in the Tri-DISCON in 1999 together with District 3860 and 3870.
  4. RID 3780 together with 3810 and 3830 where the three founding districts of the Multi-District Information Organization of the Philippines (MDIO Pilipinas) where Past District Rotaract Representative Devie Ontolan – Patricio served as its first chairman in 2008.
  5. The official District Logo was designed by Rotaractor Cool Quezon from the Rotaract Club of Timog Q.C. and approved during the Rotary Year 2010-2011 under Past District Rotaract Representative Virgil delos Santos
  6. The very first Friendship cup was initiated by RID 3780 and RID 3810 on February 20, 2011, the 2nd friendship cup also pushed through the next year on May 27, 2012 where RID 3830 also joined in. RID3780 won the 2nd friendship cup and still holds the trophy until today.
  7. The 2nd Pilipinas Rotaract Convention (ProCon) happened on February 1-3, 2013 was hosted by RID3780 held at Loreland Farm Resort, Antipolo, Rizal.
  8. The Rotary Trainers of RID3780 which established the Rotary Academy as professional and leadership training for Rotarians has created its youth service branch: “Rotary Academy: School of RAC” and held its first session last October 11, 2014. It has then produced over 30 Rotaractor graduates in the District last May 3, 2015. This has since served as the flagship project of Rotaract District 3780.
  9. For the Life-Changing Rotary Year 2021-2022, the Rotaract Clubs of Rotary International is headed by  its 35th District Rotaract Representative Dianna Isabelle Desuyo from the Rotaract Club of San Francisco Del Monte Malaya Achievers.
  10. RID 3780 is also the home to the PDRR Louie de Real, the 13th chair of the Pilipinas Rotaract MDIO and the incumbent chair of the Asia Pacific Rotaract MDIO
First Quarter District Rotaract Meeting 2021


Official census of the Philippine Statistics Authority in 2010 showed that Quezon City had a population of more than 2.7 million which is the largest comprising nearly one-fourth of of Metro Manila’s population of 11.8 million. The City also ranks first among the thirty-three (33) highly urbanized cities with the largest population in the country.

One of the places that you should definitely visit in Quezon City is the Quezon Memorial Circle, a national park located at the heart of the city which contains the Quezon Memorial Shrine, the Quezon Museums, the Circle of Fun amusement park, gardens with urban farm, monuments such as the Peace Monument which was erected by the Rotary Clubs of RID 3780, and markers such as the World Peace Bell.

The Park will also host a station of the Manila Metro Rail Transit System Line 7 which will connect San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan up to the North Avenue in Quezon City. This is under construction.

The SM City North EDSA, the biggest shopping mall in the Philippines and ranked eight biggest in the world, lies in Quezon City. The mall has always been known to be a primary venue for shopping, entertainment, and dining in restaurants. Couples who are looking for a place to date find the SM Malls one of the best venues for a memorable experience.

Share and Enjoy !